Factory Restore does not restore user data on the MSS

Does the factory restore feature restore all user data?

No, as the name “factory restore” suggests, it is designed to restore only the system state to a state when the server left the factory.

However, user data is not deleted or modified by this process, so if the data is still on the disk then it would be available after restore as well.

For complete backup and restore options, refer the Backup and Recovery section in the user manual.


Restoration of a Custom Backup

See Also

    • Related Articles

    • Does the recovery media creation feature backup all user data?

      No, the automated server recovery mechanism is not designed for that purpose. However, it can be performed manually by following the tips given in the Backup and Recovery section in the user manual.  We also provide assistance services at a small ...
    • How can one perform mass user deletion?

      One can write a bash script to mass delete users that have a common pattern. For example if you want to delete users test1 to test99. Login as mssadmin and execute the following in a terminal: sudo su - for i in {1..99}; do userdel -r test$i; done Do ...
    • Can I have custom user logins instead of the default student and teacher login accounts?

      This is particularly useful at the beginning of the school year or when the My sCool Server is being deployed for the first time or when mass accounts need to be created for conducting examinations. We can help you do that if you provide us the ...
    • What does the MSS warranty cover?

      MSS products come with a 1-year limited warranty provided by Recherche Tech LLP. The appliance's hardware is covered with comprehensive OEM carry-in warranty. The warranty on the entire unit or its parts may vary depending on your MSS version and its ...
    • Can we host any additional offline content on the server?

      Yes, it can be done via the mssadmin account. Just upload the content to the /var/www/html/mss/custom folder. Any other user can host their content by putting the content in /home/username/public_html. The former can be accessed ...