Custom user accounts on the My sCool Server

Can I have custom user logins instead of the default student and teacher login accounts?


This is particularly useful at the beginning of the school year or when the My sCool Server is being deployed for the first time or when mass accounts need to be created for conducting examinations.

We can help you do that if you provide us the details prior to shipping of your MSS appliance.  Or you can also create the same yourself via the user management module accessible to the administrator.

Recommended scheme for creating student user-ids on the My sCool Server is available herein.


User Management playlist of videos

See Also

    • Related Articles

    • Do I need to learn anything additional to start using the server?

      No, once the server is connected to the network and all systems have been booted over the network, the experience of the desktop environment is almost the same as that detailed in most of the textbooks. Hence to get up and running, the accompanying ...
    • How can one perform mass user deletion?

      One can write a bash script to mass delete users that have a common pattern. For example if you want to delete users test1 to test99. Login as mssadmin and execute the following in a terminal: sudo su - for i in {1..99}; do userdel -r test$i; done Do ...
    • Can I do my custom lesson planning on the MSS?

      The MSS is pre-loaded with some world leading Learning Management System tools such as Moodle and Kolibri (from Learning Equality). A teacher can easily plan and design their custom lessons by weaving together the huge amounts of pre-loaded open ...
    • How many clients can be connected to one MSS?

      Up to seventy (70) simultaneous clients systems have been bench-marked on our entry level server offering over a gigabit (1000 Mbps / Cat 5e and above) network. For specific details or any further queries, do contact us. Number of user accounts that ...
    • Does the factory restore feature restore all user data?

      No, as the name “factory restore” suggests, it is designed to restore only the system state to a state when the server left the factory. However, user data is not deleted or modified by this process, so if the data is still on the disk then it would ...